Here are some of the books by our 2019 Regional Writers that will be available for our Festival attendees to purchase!  They will be for sale at the FoxTale Book Shoppe located in the Fellowship Hall on the lower level of The Dahlonega Baptist Church (234 Hawkins St., Dahlonega, Ga) from 9:00am-4:30pm on Saturday, March 2, 2019 only.  So please take the opportunity to stop by and visit FoxTale Book Shoppe to peruse and buy their books.

Here are some book covers and plot summaries:



* * * * *


Judy Fogarty:  For Patricia Curren, the summer of 1978 begins with a devastating discovery: an unfamiliar black pearl button in the bed she shares with her controlling husband, Jack. Seeking the courage to end her desolate marriage, Patricia spends a quiet summer alone on beautiful Kiawah Island. But when she meets Terry Sloan, a collegiate tennis player trying to go pro, their physical attraction sparks a slow burn toward obsession. Once Patricia and Terry share closely guarded secrets from their pasts, they want more than a summer together. But their love soon fractures, as a potential sponsor takes an unusually keen interest in Terry—both on court and off. And when single, career-driven Lynn Hewitt arrives, other secrets must surface, including the one Patricia has kept from Terry all summer. An intimate portrait of the folly of the human heart, Breaking and Holding explores buried truths that are startlingly unveiled. What’s left in their wake has the power not only to shatter lives…but to redeem them.

* * * * *


Skye Southerland and Honey Truelove have just finished an interior design job for Sylvia Landmark, one of Buckhead’s most eccentric characters, and their designs are to die for. After a celebration at Sylvia’s home where they reveal the new décor, including a desk with a possible link to the pirate Blackbeard, Sylvia turns up dead, leaving the ladies wondering if this desk is worth more than they bargained for. Skye and Honey are now suspects in the murder of a woman who had few friends, and plenty of possible enemies. In an attempt to clear their names, Skye, Honey, and Honey’s loveable cousin Ginger embark on a journey to find the real killer, figure out the history behind the desk, and clear their names before they end up going to jail, or even worse, becoming the next victims! With plenty of warnings from Skye’s husband Mitch, and the ruggedly handsome Detective Montaine assigned to Sylvia’s case, these girls still manage to get right in the middle of the investigation, while having time to enjoy all that Georgia has to offer.

 * * * * *



Grant McGarry:  A Night in the Pech Valley is Grant McGarry’s account of what it takes to become an Army Ranger and what life is like in the 75th Ranger Regiment.  More importantly it is about an operation in the most dangerous terrain for U.S. forces anywhere in the world. The Pech Valley is surrounded by Taliban-filled mountains on the Pakistan border in the Kunar Province, where the mountain peaks push ten thousand feet. On the night of August 18, 2010 a platoon of Army Rangers were on a direct action raid to capture/kill the 3rd most wanted high value target in Afghanistan and this is the story of the Rangers who ferociously fought through the night and into the next morning. A Night in the Pech Valley is dedicated to Army Ranger, SPC. Christopher Shane Wright, who made the ultimate sacrifice in the Pech Valley on the morning of August 19th, 2010.

 * * * * *


In 1971, Army Ranger Beck Senecal is denied a third tour in Vietnam after being driven through a second tour by his rage and grief and a desire to avenge the KIA of his best and hometown friend, U.S. Marine Foster Odom. But, in so doing, he blindly broke his promise to return to his girlfriend, Marica. Now, Marcia is engaged to someone else and Beck has no closure. He reluctantly takes his Freedom Bird flight to California, is discharged, doesn’t call home and decides on a long train ride to Mobile, Alabama, where an old high school friend surprises him and gives him a lift to their largely rural community of Fermata Bend, Alabama–back to the tradition, values and sense of being worthy of others that was imparted upon him from the community and the veterans that he, Foster and other boys grew up under, all epitomized by the older veteran leader and icon, Jared Snead, “The Teller of the Tales,” who played an old piano, told American history, local history and other stories, ran the hunting club, held forth as the emcee at all the veterans’ balls at the old town armory and led all the parades around the town square. Only, Jared Snead has died, too, and so has the legend he fostered. Beck comes home to a growing realization of a Disconnect–that all his rage and all he thought he had fought for has become futile, as well as his sense of place. He now enters a struggle with feelings of disorientation and loss. He is alone and anxious. He can’t sleep unless he exhausts himself. He fights down urges to be violent. He isolates himself. His parents can’t understand him. He avoids church and community while he rejuvenates his old hot rod in the shed and drives up and down the highway by old haunts and by his old girlfriend, Marica’s, house. But he is no longer the teenager who lived in his room. The Disconnect becomes more exacerbated with his mother’s growing fear of him and her nagging that he should get out and be seen; his father’s wish that he begin working on the farm and march with the veterans in the Veterans’ Parade. Beck refuses both. Then Beck is called out to see an old visiting school friend who is now a DJ in Atlanta and has brought along a freaky girlfriend. They reminisce and go on a drunken night spree to Jared Snead’s deserted family home place. It ends badly and there is no beginning of closure for Beck until he confronts Marica, the one he had promised to come back to.

* * * * *


Molly Malone needs a makeover. At least she thinks she does. Here unsightly teeth go this way and that. Molly’s underbite isn’t very becoming for a young mom of nine frisky pups. She dreams of a sparkly Hollywood smile, of being a hound about town. Are braces the answer. Or does beauty come from within?



* * * * *