Dahlonega Literary Festival

DLF logo square justThe Dahlonega Literary Festival is an annual celebration of books. The next festival will take place March 24-25, 2018. Situated in Historic Downtown Dahlonega, the festival continues to grow and become more and more entertaining as the years go on. We promise it will delight anyone who is a lover of books and reading. All festival events are free and open to the public unless otherwise noted.

Each year the festival presents a slate of invited authors representing a variety of genres sharing their ideas and experiences in various programs. In addition, a number of regional authors (ranging from local to other areas of the Southeast) have the opportunity to purchase a table to both interact with festival attendees and sell their books.

The Dahlonega Literary Festival is supported by donations and grants from Georgia Humanities, in partnership with the Georgia Department of Economic Development, and the Georgia Council for the Arts, through funding from the Georgia General Assembly.

Check out the blog roll below for the latest news and updates from the festival committee.



The 2018 Featured Authors and Regional Writers lineups have been decided!  We think that we have wonderful and exciting authors for 2018 Festival attendees and we are proud to present them to you.  Please come and attend the 2018 Dahlonega Literary Festival on March 24-25, 2018.  Our programs promise to be fun, entertaining, and informative, AND you can meet the authors!

To see brief biographies and photos of all of our authors, please go to our “2018 Featured Authors” and “2018 Regional Writers” pages and scroll down.

Here is a list of our Featured Authors.  They will be the authors who will be featured in most of our programming.  Featured Author’s books will be for sale in the Community House where Fox Tale Book Shoppe will be set up.  Authors will be available to sign their books.


Jacob M. Appel                                                                Johnathan Barrett

Valerie Boyd                                                                    Michael Buchanan

Gail Lumet Buckley                                                       Emily Carpenter

Sarah Creech                                                                   Phillippe Diedrich

Vince Dooley                                                                   Joshilyn Jackson

Jessica Khoury                                                                Julia McDermott

Dana Middleton                                                              Steve Oney

Gin Phillips                                                                      Anna Schachner

Jedwin Smith                                                                  Christopher Swann


We are also very excited to have these Regional Writers participating in the 2018 Dahlonega Literary Festival!  Regional Writers are authors who have published one book or many.  They may be published by traditional publishers or self-published.  Most are from the Southeast and all have gone through our Review/Selection Process where their books, representing various genres, have been reviewed and selected as the best works of the authors who applied. Regional Writers may also be featured in our programming.  The Regional Writers will be located in the Fellowship Hall of the Dahlonega Baptist Church where they will be available to sell and sign their books.  They will be available on Saturday, March 24, 2018 from 9:00am-4:30pm, so please stop by as our Regional Writers would love to meet you!


Daniel Adams                                                                 Kris Allis

A. Bernette                                                                      Christine Bowen

Mike Brown                                                                    Alison Reeger Cook

Larry Copeland                                                              Seth Davey

Andy Davidson                                                               Judy Fogarty

Donna Hammontree                                                     J. G. Jakes

Jeremy Logan & Brenda Sevcik                                  Cynthia Lott

Deborah Malone                                                            Grant McGarry

Theron Montgomery                                                     Ed Payne

Kimberly Simms                                                             Richard Thornton

Mark Warren                                                                   Larry Weill

Kathy Williams

SEE YOU MARCH 24-25, 2018!!!!